How too-Evo 4,5,6,7 rear diff replacement

trackday

trackday

Hi guys as above had to change my rear diff on my E4 the other day so thought i would let you in on how it went, as im a moblie mechanic my mate at TRACK SPEED lent me his ramp to do it on (i would recomend doing it on a 2 post ramp)
After trawling the net and looking how people have done it in the past i decided to ignore most of it and do it my way (im a fully qualified mechanic).

1. Put on ramp and send up and wd40 everything you see!!Then drain ayc and diff oils from the diff (2 x large nuts at bottom of the diff.)

2. Remove both antiroll bar lower tie bar nuts and move tie bars out of the way (i needed to hold the tie bar ball with mole grips as they kept spinning plus loads of lube)

3. Remove the prop shaft bolts and move the prop out of the way (just the prop to diff bolts need to be removed,looks like theres 6 but 2 are dummy)

4. Remove both lower arm bolts at the subframe then get a pry bar and put between the driveshaft and diff and crack both driveshafts outward so they just start to come out of the diff.At this stage you wont be able to take them fully out yet.

5. Remove the 2 AYC pipes and then follow the pipes up and you will see a pipe clip half way up the diff remove the bolt and the pipes are then free.

6. Next reomove all the subframe to body bolts there are 8 bolts then 2 nuts at the front i removed all of these and supported the subframe with a gearbox stand.

7. Lower the gearbox stand and now its time to remove the driveshafts.(you may need two people for this)To do this make sure the driveshafts are loose still in the diff and not popped back in then pull the drivers side rear wheel outwards from the back of the wheel while a friend is guiding the shaft out of the diff off the splined shaft (way hey) and when clear rest it at the front of the diff, On the passenger side shaft make sure it is loose and removal is below in stage 8.